About Symphony Orchestra of India with Zakir Hussain

Running time  Start: 7.30pm. Interval: 8.35pm. Ends: 9.25pm

Symphony Orchestra of India

Alpesh Chauhan conductor

Zakir Hussain tabla

Niladri Kumar sitar

Rakesh Chaurasia bansuri

Strauss Rosenkavalier Suite

Hussain Triple Concerto

Stravinsky Petrushka (1947)

Representing an entire country and a population of 1.4 billion, India’s first and only professional symphony orchestra chose Symphony Hall as the launchpad for its first, highly successful, UK tour in 2019. Birmingham’s own Alpesh Chauhan guest conducts the orchestra in its return visit. His meteoric rise now sees him as Music Director of Birmingham Opera Company, Principal Guest Conductor of the Düsseldorfer Symphoniker, and a regular at the helm of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

From the whooping horns of the opening, to the rapt intensity of the ‘Presentation of the Rose’ and the final rousing waltz, Strauss’s Rosenkavalier Suite shows off the orchestra in glorious technicolour. Petrushka is also an orchestral showcase as Stravinsky magically portrays the puppet characters in tales of servitude, love, jealousy and murder through music with a sinister undercurrent. This was one of the major works for Diaghilev’s Ballet Russes that made Stravinsky’s name.

Tabla maestro Zakir Hussain has appeared many times at Symphony Hall and was soloist in his own tabla concerto, Peshkar, with the orchestra in 2019. Creating a fusion of Indian and Western classical music traditions, he uses the solo instruments and orchestra to the full, in a way that makes this combination seem the most natural thing in the world.

Booking Info

We believe everyone should have the chance to hear world class musicians in our world class venues. That's why we have more ways to save than ever before.

From multi-buy discounts to Kids Go Free, £5 tickets for 16-24s and people on qualifying benefits and more: Click here for details on how to save

Ticket commission

*Some events may carry a £3 - £4 ticket commission; charged per ticket. This is charged when you book through B:Music’s Box Office – online, by phone or in person. Any advertised prices will include any per-ticket fee that may apply.

Wheelchair Users and Disabled Patrons

If you require a wheelchair position (subject to availability) please call the Box Office on 0121 289 6343.

A range of tickets and services are available under our Access Scheme. To find out more, or to join the Access Scheme, email boxoffice@bmusic.co.uk or call us on 0121 289 6343.


Getting here

  • Symphony Hall
    Broad Street
    B1 2EA
  • More info