About Shostakovich 8 with the CBSO

Running time  This concert will last approximately 2 hours.

Epic, uncompromising music forged from blood, fire and steel.

As the USSR faced the onslaught of Nazi Germany, Shostakovich poured his feelings into a symphony on a colossal scale. Shostakovich’s Eighth is music forged from blood, fire and steel – massive, uncompromising, and so powerful that after the War, they banned it. But first, true romance: as the fabulous Boris Giltburg plays Rachmaninoff’s glittering Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.

Booking Info

Save on tickets with the CBSO’s concessionary prices. Tickets for students and benefit recipients start from £5. Tickets for 18-30s start from £10.

This concert is part of the CBSO’s multi-buy discount

Free (limited) ticket for Disabled Visitor’s Carers, as per Access Scheme

Ticket commission

*Events may carry a £1 - £5 ticket commission; charged per ticket. This is charged when you book through B:Music’s Box Office – online, by phone or in person. Any advertised prices will include any per-ticket fee that may apply.

Wheelchair Users and Disabled Patrons

If you require a wheelchair position (subject to availability) please call the Box Office on 0121 289 6343.

A range of tickets and services are available under our Access Scheme. To find out more, or to join the Access Scheme, email boxoffice@bmusic.co.uk or call us on 0121 289 6343.

Getting here

  • Symphony Hall
    Broad Street
    B1 2EA
  • More info