About ECHO Rising Stars: Sonoro Quartet

Haydn String Quartet in B flat major, Op 76 No 4 ‘Sunrise’

Annelies van Parys World Premiere 'Tsunami'

Shostakovich String Quartet No 8 in C minor, Op 110

The Belgian Sonoro Quartet have been making waves throughout Europe with a busy schedule of over 40 concerts a year, coupled with a host of radio broadcasts and competition successes, not least, recognition at the Bartók World Competition for string quartets.

Their programme, entitled ’Reflections’, looks to the past and the ‘father of the string quartet’ with Haydn’s radiant ‘Sunrise’ Quartet, and to the future with a new commission from the Belgian composer Annelies van Parys whose music “feels like an overwhelming encyclopedia of colours” (De Standaard). Shostakovich’s most popular Quartet, his Eighth, was written as a result of a trip to see the bombed out ruins of the city of Dresden. It’s full of self-quotation, including his own musical motto, and steeped in an enigma of profoundly personal meaning.

ECHO artist nominated by BOZAR Brussels

Booking Info

Tickets: £15: Includes coffee/tea and a slice of cake, available before the concert

Please note this is a general admission event, seating is limited and not guaranteed

Free ticket for Disabled Visitor’s Carers, as per Access Scheme

We believe everyone should have the chance to hear world class musicians in our world class venues. That's why we have more ways to save than ever before.

From multi-buy discounts to Kids Go Free, £5 tickets for 16-24s and people on qualifying benefits and more: Click here for details on how to save

Wheelchair Users and Disabled Patrons

If you require a wheelchair position (subject to availability) please call the Box Office on 0121 289 6343.

A range of tickets and services are available under our Access Scheme. To find out more, or to join the Access Scheme, email boxoffice@bmusic.co.uk or call us on 0121 289 6343.